Bahrain 2015 F1 Grand Prix results


2015 Bahrain Grand Prix Results

After two races in Asia, teams flew to the Middle East for the Bahrain Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton has won the last two Bahrain Grand Prix races and was seen as the favourite. After the Chinese Grand Prix, emotions flared up again between team mates Hamilton and Nico Rosberg, which may translate into some exciting driving! All teams and drivers were present for the Bahrain Grand Prix, which was won by Hamilton, followed by Kimi Raikkonen in second place and Rosberg in third place.

Qualifying yet again was dominated by Hamilton, who set the fastest lap times for all three qualifying rounds. Sebastian Vettel also drove well during practice and posted the second fastest lap times. Jenson Button was not so lucky, as his car broke down before he could even post a time. However, stewards still allowed him to race in the Grand Prix – however, in the end, he could not race due to technical problems with his car. The grid order was as follows: Hamilton, Vettel, Rosberg, Raikkonen, Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa.

The Grand Prix race did not start well for Felipe Massa, whose car stalled on the formation lap. However, he was able to start from the pit lane and ended up finishing the race in sixth place. The race started with excitement, as Rosberg tried to overtake Vettel in the first lap, but instead got overtaken by Raikkonen and dropped to fourth place. Hamilton was able to hold on to his pole position through the fracas. Rosberg did not give up and kept trying to overtake – no doubt, the aggressive driving he promised after the Chinese Grand Prix. In lap 9, he finally managed to get past Vettel, who drove slightly wide in a turn and opened up a gap.

By lap 20, the race order was Hamilton, Rosberg, Vettel, Raikkonen and Bottas. The first retirement was Carlos Sainz, in lap 29, right after he pitted – an error by the pit crew? The leading drivers continued to battle for positions. The next and last retirement was Max Verstappen in lap 34, with electrical issues – this meant that both Torro Rosso drivers were out of the race. With 10 laps left in the race, Rosberg and Raikkonen continued to battle for second place, behind Hamilton. An error by Rosberg in the penultimate lap opened up a gap for Raikkonen and the Finn got through to second place. Hamilton developed a brake problem in the last lap, but his lead was big enough to clinch him the chequered flag. Again, this race was a frustrating finish for Rosberg in third place, but excellent driving from veteran driver Raikkonen, with a well-deserved second place finish.

Post-race, Daniel Ricciardo faced possible penalty issues, as his engine seized in the last lap of the race. He has only one engine left for the remainder of the season, with just four races completed – which means he will be subject to penalties, if he exceeds the limit. Drivers have been allocated four engines for the season, but this was recently increased to five, as several drivers are already close to their season limit only after four races.

The Drivers’ Championship standings saw some changes after the Bahrain Grand Prix. Hamilton leads with 93 points and that remains unchanged. However, Rosberg and Vettel exchanged places, one point apart on 66 and 65 respectively. Raikkonen’s second place finish moved him up one place to fourth with 42 points.

For the Constructors’ Championship standings, the top three positions remained unchanged. Mercedes is in the lead with their 1-3 finish in Bahrain and 159 points. Ferrari is in second place with 107 points. Williams-Mercedes is in third place with 61 points. Red Bull’s 6-9 finish moved the team up one place to fourth, with 23 points. Two teams have yet to score points, McLaren-Honda and Manor Marussia.

Full Race Results

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:35:05.809s
  1. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +3.380s
  1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) +6.033s
  2. Valtteri Bottas (Williams-Mercedes) +42.957s
  3. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) +43.989s
  4. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull-Renault) +1:01.751s
  5. Romain Grosjean (Lotus-Mercedes) +1:24.763s
  6. Sergio Perez (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  7. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  8. Felipe Massa (Williams-Mercedes) +1 lap
  9. Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) +1 lap
  10. Felipe Nasr (Sauber-Ferrari) +1 lap
  11. Nico Hülkenberg (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  12. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber-Ferrari) +1 lap
  13. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus-Mercedes) +1 lap
  14. Will Stevens (Marussia-Ferrari) +2 laps
  15. Roberto Merhi (Marussia-Ferrari) +3 laps

Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso-Renault) retired, lap 34

Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso-Renault) retired, lap 29

Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) DNS

Grand Prix details  |   Circuit details   |    Transportation   |    Accommodation

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *