Brazilian 2015 F1 Grand Prix results




The 2106 F1 Grand Prix season is slowly coming to a close, with the penultimate race in Brazil. The excitement is already over, as both the Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championship titles have already been won. The Brazilian Grand Prix also took place in the aftermath of the terrorist attacks in Paris and teams held a minute of silence for the victims prior to the race. In the end, it was Nico Rosberg, who took the chequered flag, his second Grand Prix win in a row, followed by team mate Lewis Hamilton in second place and Sebastian Vettel in third place.

Hamilton took the fastest lap times for the first and second qualifying rounds, but Rosberg managed to inch out his team mate for pole position, with a 78 thousands of a second margin in the last round. Rosberg has taken the pole position for the last four races and has converted those into a win in two races. He was followed by Hamilton, Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen, Nico Hülkenberg and Daniil Kvyat. Fernando Alonso didn’t manage to set a qualifying time, but was allowed to race by stewards. Valtteri Bottas qualified in fourth position, but received a three-place grid penalty for illegally overtaking Felipe Nasr, while the red flag was out and started in seventh place. Daniel Ricciardo received a 10-place grid penalty for changing his power unit and although he qualified in ninth place on the grid, but had to start in 19th. Nasr was also given a three-place grid penalty for obstructing Massa – he started on 13th place on the grid, after qualifying in 11th place.

The Grand Prix started with Nasr stalling on the formation lap, not a good start for him, as he had to start from the pit lane. The Brazilian Grand Prix wgots off to a rocky start. Rosberg had a good start from pole position, but with Hamilton right on his tail. In the back, Alonso smashed into Button, but both were able to continue the race. But Sainz was out of the race in lap 1, a bad weekend for the Spaniard. By lap 10, Rosberg still remained in the lead, followed by Hamilton, Vettel, Raikkonen and Bottas. Lap 19 had fans on the edge of their seats, as Rosberg locked up and almost looked like he was out of the race. The Mercedes team told Hamilton to ease up, they didn’t want both drivers crashing out, afterall Rosberg is still to secure second in the championship. Lap 36 saw Maldonado crash into the side of Ericsson, but both drivers were able to continue the race. By lap 45, Rosberg still remained in the lead, followed by Hamilton, Vettel and Raikkonen. The last half of the race saw Hamilton continue to crowd his team mate, but Rosberg held steady and took his fifth win this season. On a frustrating note, Massa, who finished in eighth, was disqualified after the race due to breach of temperature limits.

The Drivers’ Championship standings remained unchanged. Hamilton, who already has the title in his bag, continued to move ahead, now with 363 points. Rosberg’s win in Brazil gave him 25 points, for a total of 297 points. Vettel’s third place win gave him 15 points, for a total of 266 points. Bottas remained in fourth place, with 136 points and Raikkonen in fifth place with 135 points. Three drivers have yet to score points: Roberto Merhi, Will Stevens and Alexander Rossi.

The Constructors’ Championship title also remained unchanged. Mercedes already has the title in their pockets and their 1-2 win in Brazil added 43 points, for a total of 660 points. Ferrari remained in second place with 401 points and Williams-Mercedes in third place with 253 points. Only one team has yet to score any points this season, Marussia-Ferrari.

Full Race Results

  1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 1:31:09.090s
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) +7.756s
  3. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) +14.244s
  4. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +47.543s
  5. Valtteri Bottas (Williams-Mercedes) +1 lap
  6. Nico Hülkenberg (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  7. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  8. Romain Grosjean (Lotus-Mercedes) +1 lap
  9. Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso-Renault) +1 lap
  10. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus-Mercedes) +1 lap
  11. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  12. Sergio Perez (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  13. Felipe Massa (Williams-Mercedes) +1 lap
  14. Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) +1 lap
  15. Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) +1 lap
  16. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber-Ferrari) +2 laps
  17. Will Stevens (Marussia-Ferrari) +4 laps
  18. Alexander Rossi (Marussia-Ferrari) +4 laps

Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso-Renault) retired, lap 1

Felipe Nasr (Sauber-Ferrari) disqualified, lap 70

Grand Prix details  |   Circuit details   |   Transportation   |    Accommodation

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *