Canadian 2015 F1 Grand Prix results


2015 Canadian Grand Prix Results

From Europe, teams flew to North America, for the Canadian Grand Prix. This race has been a fixture on the F1 race line-up since 1961 and organisers just signed a contract with FIA to extend their participation until 2024. Michael Schumacher still holds the most wins at the Gilles Villeneuve Circuit, with seven, but Lewis Hamilton is tied for second place with Nelson Piquet with three wins. Red Bull has won the last two Canadian Grand Prix races, Sebastian Vettel once and Daniel Ricciardo once. This year, however, it was Lewis Hamilton who took the chequered flag, followed by Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas in third place. Another 1-2 win for Mercedes!


Qualifying for once was not completely dominated by the two Mercedes drivers. Romain Grosjean posted the fastest lap in the first round, but he was not able to replicate his speed in the second and third rounds. Hamilton took the fastest laps in the second and third rounds, which earned him pole position. He was followed by Rosberg, Kimi Raikkonen, Bottas and Grosjean. Jenson Button was plagued with electronics issues and was not able to race in the qualifying rounds, but was given permission by the stewards to start in the race – however, he received a five- and ten-place grid penalty for exceeding the allowance of two power unit components and started on the back of the grid. Max Verstappen also received a five-place grid penalty for causing a collision – he moved from 12th to 19th position. Vettel also received a five-place grid penalty for overtaking when red flags were out – he qualified in 16th place, but was relegated to 18th. This season, grid penalties are no longer carried over to the next race, so drivers who couldn’t take their grid penalties, were given time penalties instead.

The race started off with no changes in grid positions, with Hamilton in the lead off pole position. Hamilton just continued to stretch his lead over team mate Rosberg; by lap 14 he led by 3.4 seconds. Behind him, drivers battled for positions, including Vettel, who was plagued with problems during the qualifying session – he was in 16th place after 18 laps. Unusually, there were no retirements up to the halfway point of the race. The first retirement was Alonso in lap 47, who just lost power and rolled into the pit lane. This was tough luck for Alonso, who has to continue the season with zero points. Lap 51 saw a small collision with Grosjean and Will Stevens; Grosjean received a five-second penalty for the collision. The next retirement was Button in lap 54 with exhaust problems. He was quickly followed by Roberto Merhi in lap 57 with a driveshaft problem. Hamilton remained comfortably in the lead until the end – this was his fourth win in Canada and also his fourth win this season.

The top four Drivers’ Championship standings remained unchanged. Hamilton extended his lead to151 points. Rosberg remained in second place with 134 points – 17 points behind his team mate. Vettel remained in third place with 108 points and Raikkonen in fourth place with 72 points. Bottas’ third place finish in Canada garnered him 15 points, but he remained in fifth place with 57 points. Four drivers have yet to score points, including Alonso.

For the Constructors’ Championship standings, the top four rankings remained unchanged. The 1-2 finish by Mercedes propelled them further ahead, with 285 points. That is 105 points ahead of second place Ferrari, with 180 points. Williams-Mercedes remained in third place with 104 points and Red Bull in fourth place with 54 points. With their 7-10 finish, Lotus-Mercedes moved up into fifth place with 23 points. Only one team has yet to score any points, Marussia-Ferrari.

Full Race Results

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:31:53.145s
  2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) +2.285s
  1. Valtteri Bottas (Williams-Mercedes) +40.666s
  1. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +45.625s
  2. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) +49.903s
  3. Felipe Massa (Williams-Mercedes) +56.381s
  4. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus-Mercedes) +1:06.664s
  5. Nico Hülkenberg (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  6. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  7. Romain Grosjean (Lotus-Mercedes) +1 lap
  8. Sergio Perez (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  9. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso-Renault) +1 lap
  10. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  11. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber-Ferrari) +1 lap
  12. Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso-Renault) +1 lap
  13. Felipe Nasr (Sauber-Ferrari) +2 laps
  14. Will Stevens (Marussia-Ferrari) +4 laps

Roberto Merhi (Marussia-Ferrari) retired, lap 57

Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) retired, lap 54

Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) retired, lap 47

Grand Prix details  |   Circuit details   |   Transportation   |    Accommodation

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *