Formula 1

Formula One, or F1, is an exciting and thrilling motor racing sport that utilises the most modern and technologically advanced cars. The Formula One World Championship race as we know it today dates back to the 1950s, but its roots can be traced all the way back to road racing in France in the 1890s. Formula One pits world class drivers and cars against each other on racing circuits around the world. With new Grand Prix races being added almost every season, there is bound to be an F1 Championship race near every racing fan.

F1 racing cars are state-of-the-art, and car and engine constructors put their best teams on the development of technology for races. Historically, the most legendary and successful team has been the red Ferrari team with their famous prancing horse emblem. Many legendary Grand Prix winners and Championship drivers have driven for Ferrari, such as Alberto Ascari, Juan-Manuel Fangio, Mike Hawthorne, Niki Lauda, Ayrton Senna and Michael Schumacher. However, most recently, team Red Bull has been overshadowing Ferrari, having won the Constructors’ Championship Title now four years in a row. (2010-2013). But in 2014, Red Bull was clearly overshadowed by Mercedes that dominated the season.

In 2005, Spaniard Fernando Alonso became the youngest driver, at the age of 24, and first Spanish driver to win the F1 Drivers’ Championship title. But since then, his position has been usurped by German Sebastian Vettel, who won the Drivers’ Championship Title at age 22 in 2010 and continued his reign as champion in 2011, 2012 and 2013. What makes F1 exciting is the flow of young or new drivers joining the circuit every year. The past couple of years have seen the emergence of new Indian drivers to the line-up, and most recently Danish, Russian and Swedish drivers.

F1’s line-up has also been moving away from the traditional European teams. This means that traditionally dominant teams such as Ferrari are being challenged by new teams like Red Bull, Marussia and Force India. This is changing the face and feel of F1. The racing scene has also witnessed the departure of big racing names such as BMW, Toyota and Bridgestone. Although many have criticised these departures, in reality they seem to have had little impact on the sport.

The 2014 F1 season features a 19-race weekend schedule, the same number of races as 2014. The season runs from March to November. The line-up of Grand Prix races is getting more and more international, with just 7 out of 19 races being held in Europe.  The addition to the 2015 Grand Prix season will be the revival of the Mexican Grand Prix that has not been run since 1992.  The omission from the 2015 season line-up is the German Grand Prix race. This will be the first time that no Grand Prix race will be held in Germany since 1960! The reason behind the omission is basically administrative, as FIA and the circuit owners could not come to an agreement. Detailed track information, race previews and results can be found on the following web pages.