British F1 Grand Prix

Introduction  |  Circuit details  Transportation  Accommodation  |  Results

For the country that claims to be the home of motor sport, what better venue is there than an old WWII airfield for a F1 World Championship circuit? Silverstone circuit holds an historic place in F1, ushering in the modern era of F1 racing, and has become a popular fixture on the F1 calendar. Although it shared the event for many years with Brands Hatch, Silverstone has hosted the British Grand Prix permanently since 1986 – it is only one of two circuits that have continuously hosted F1 Grand Prix races, the other being the Italian Grand Prix circuit.

Silverstone 4

In 1950, the Silverstone circuit was chosen to host the very first round of the new F1 World Championships. In the presence of King George VI, the race was won by Nino Farino in his Alfa Romeo – an amazing two laps ahead of second place winner, team mate Luigi Faglioli. In fact, Farino ended up becoming World Champion that year. In 1955, the British Grand Prix alternated between Silverstone and the Aintree circuit in Liverpool – in this year at Aintree, Briton Stirling Moss won, beating his team mate Juan-Manuel Fangio in the second closest F1 finish at the time.

In the 1960s, Aintree lost favour and Brands Hatch and Silverstone alternately hosted the British GP. However, Brands Hatch soon became known as a dangerous track with numerous fatalities; drivers George Crossman, Tony Flory and Stuart Duncan were all killed within a matter of months, at the Paddock Hill Bend. In 2008, Donington Park was awarded the British Grand Prix, but the contract was voided in 2009 when it failed to raise funding. Instead, Silverstone signed a 17-year contract to host the race from 2010 onwards.

What makes Silverstone interesting for F1 enthusiasts is the fact that Britain is home to several of the current and past F1 teams. Several of the F1 teams are located in the UK, for example Caterham, Marussia, Mercedes, Red Bull and Lotus, and some use Silverstone as their testing circuit. This means some drivers know Silverstone very well.

Historically, there has never been a sweeping podium winner at Silverstone. The 60s saw drivers Jim Clark and Alain Prost win five times each, followed by Michael Schumacher with three wins. There are currently nine drivers who have won the British Grand Prix twice. The difficulty of the track, combined with its risky overtaking, make this an exciting one for the spectators to watch. The 2013 British Grand Prix was won by Nico Rosberg, his first win at Silverstone.

Introduction  |  Circuit details  |  Transportation  Accommodation  |  Results