Hungarian F1 Grand Prix

Introduction  |  Circuit details Transportation  |  Accommodation  |  Results

Hungary first hosted a Formula 1 Championship Grand Prix in 1936, but with the onset of WWII, post-war depression, reconstruction and the rise of Communism, it really wasn’t until the 1960s that motor sport in Hungary took root again. The first races were held for Formula Junior cars at Budapest’s Ferihegy Airport. In the 1980s, the F1 Championship organisers were looking to host a Grand Prix in the then Eastern European Bloc and were negotiating with the Russian government to have Moscow host an event. However, in the end, it was the Hungarians, with their enthusiasm for motor racing that won out.

Hungarian GP

Originally a street race was planned for the Hungarian Grand Prix, but in the end a brand new circuit was built outside of Budapest. The Hungaroring opened its gates in 1986, after only eight months of construction. The first F1 Grand Prix event was held in August of the same year, and was an enormous success with close to 200,000 spectators cheering on the drivers. This Grand Prix was won by Nelson Piquet driving for Williams-Honda, second place went to Ayrton Senna for Lotus-Renault and third place getter was Nigel Mansell for Williams-Honda.

Other historic moments for the Hungarian Grand Prix include Nigel Mansell’s amazing win in the 1989 Grand Prix. Starting in 12th place, on a circuit that is known for its tight structure and difficulty in overtaking, Mansell clinched the podium. In 1990, Thierry Boutsen pulled off the amazing feat of beating Ayrton Senna by 0.3 seconds and taking the podium. The Hungarian Grand Prix also gave Damon Hill his first-ever Grand Prix win, back in 1997.

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton have won the most Hungarian Grand Prix races, with four wins each – Hamilton won the 2013 Hungarian Grand Prix. The two are followed by racing legend Ayrton Senna, with three wins.

Introduction  |  Circuit details Transportation  |  Accommodation  |  Results