Scuderia Ferrari F1 Racing Team 2015

History in F1

Ferrari is probably the most famous F1 racing team, founded by Enzo Ferrari. It has the F1 statistics to prove its status: 16 Constructors’ and 15 Drivers’ Championships. The history of the sports car maker is inextricably linked to motor racing, having debuted at the 1950 Monaco Grand Prix. Since then, some of the most famous F1 drivers have driven for Ferrari, including Jacky Ickx, Niki Lauda, Gilles Villeneuve, Mario Andretti, Gerhard Berger, Nigel Mansell and Michael Schumacher, to mention a few. However, the team has had a dry spell, having not won a Constructors’ Championship title since 2008. In 2011, the team dropped the ‘Marlboro’ name, due to new sponsorship regulations against tobacco advertising. In 2012, the team came in 2nd place behind Red Bull, albeit with a 60 point gap. The 2013 Season was no better, coming in 3rd place behind Mercedes and 2014 disappointing with a 4th place finish with 216 points. Scuderia Ferrari has a lot to prove in 2015, hiring former Drivers’ Championship winner Sebastian Vettel and keeping veretan driving Kimi Raikkonen.



Team Scuderia Ferrari has an impressive track record, but has struggled pretty much since the departure of veteran driver Michael Schumacher. The team has not won a Constructors’ Championship title since 2008 and came in second place behind Red Bull 2012. For 2015, Scuderia Ferrari is betting on newcomer Sebastian Vettel and veteran driver Kimi Raikkonen. The team is no doubt itching to return to former glory and it will be interesting to see if Vettel can deliver that wish.

Technical Details & Statistics

Teams using the Ferrari engine change somewhat this season, although three teams continue to use the engine: Scuderia Ferrari, Sauber and Manor Marussia. In 2011, Team Scuderia Ferrari launched its new Ferrari 150º Italia chassis, to celebrate the company’s 150 year history. The chassis was initially named F-150, but Ford complained that this was the same name as its popular pick-up truck and Ferrari subsequently changed the name. In 2015, the team is using the SF15-T chassis and Ferrari 059/4 engine.

Base: Maranello (Italy)

Team Principal: Maurizio Arrivabene

Main drivers: Sebastian Vettel & Kimi Raikkonen

Engine: Ferrari 059/4

Chassis: SF15-T

Debut F1 Season: 1950

Constructors’ Championship Titles: 16

Grand Prix race victories: 222

Pole Position: 207

Fastest lap times: 231


Driver 1:  Sebastian Vettel

Motor Racing - Formula One World Championship - Australian Grand Prix - Preparation Day - Thursday - Melbourne, Australia

Two years ago, Sebastian Vettel is currently the driver to beat on the F1 circuit. The German driver has won four back-to-back Drivers’ Championships and broken numerous F1. Vettel started his F1 career in 2007 – he was just 19 years old when he drove in the practice run in the 2006 Turkish Grand Prix. He started with Team BMW Sauber and then switched to Team Scuderia Toro Rosso in 2007. During this season, he was the youngest driver to take pole position and youngest F1 driver to win a Grand Prix. Vettel switched to Team Red Bull Racing in 2009 and came in 2nd for the Drivers’ Championship. In 2013, Vettel finished the season in first place, with 397 points and 13 Grand Prix wins (of which nine were consecutive!). However, 2014 was a frustrating season for the German driver, plagued with technical problems and lack of speed; he finished a dismal 5th with 167 points. Now driving for famous Ferrari, Vettel is going to want to change this.

Driver Statistics:

Nationality: German

Date of Birth: 3 July 1987

World Championship Titles: 4

Number of Grand Prix won: 40

Pole Positions: 45

Career Points: 1,716

Podiums: 71

Driver 2:  Kimi Raikkonen

Kimi Raikkonen Scuderia Ferrari

Veteran driver, Kimi Raikkonen returned to F1 racing in 2012 with team Lotus, after a two year hiatus driving in the World Rally Championship series and NASCAR. The 2013 Season was a good one for Raikkonen, finishing the season in 5th place with 183, despite having to retire the last two races for undergoing back surgery. For 2014, Raikkonen returned to his former team, having driven for Ferrari three years between 2007 and 2009 – he won the Drivers’ Championship title during this time in 2007. He had a mediocre season in 2014, finishing in 12th place with 55 points. Perhaps the Finn will do better with Vettel as a team mate this season.

Driver Statistics:

Nationality: Finnish

Date of Birth: 17 October 1979

World Championship Titles: 1

Number of Grand Prix won: 20

Pole Positions: 16

Career Points: 1,084

Podiums: 78