Infiniti Red Bull F1 Racing Team 2015

History in F1

Team Red Bull Racing debuted in F1 racing at the 2005 Austrian Grand Prix, by acquiring Jaguar Racing. The team is backed by Austrian energy drinks maker, Red Bull, which actually sponsors two F1 teams, the other team being Scuderia Toro Rosso. Team Red Bull has an impressive track record since its inception, finishing 7th, 5th, 2nd and winning the Constructors’ Championship titles four years in a row from 2010 to 2013. The team has shown consistency with a good engine and chassis and two excellent drivers – Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber -, who sometimes ended up battling each other and unfortunately led Webber to leave F1 racing for 2014. However, with the changes in engines in 2014, Red Bull and Vettel could not remain on top and were beaten by Mercedes in 2014. In 2013, the team changed its name to Infiniti Red Bull Racing, adding its main sponsor’s name to the overall team name. The 2014 Season also saw the return of the Austrian Grand Prix, at the Red Bull Ring.



Red Bull has an impressive track record, winning back-to-back Constructors’ Championship and Drivers’ Championship titles for four years in a row, from 2010 to 2013. Red Bull will again sponsor two F1 teams this season again, but drivers are changing this season. Sebastian Vettel leaves the team after six years and joins Ferrari, but Daniel Ricciardo remains unchanged from last season. Russian driver Daniil Kvyat joins the team for 2015 as the second driver.

Technical Details & Statistics

Team Red Bull initially began by using the Cosworth engine, which was the engine Jaguar Racing was using, when it acquired the team. But in 2006, the team changed to a Ferrari engine, when rule changes allowed the use of a V8 engine. In 2007, Red Bull then changed to the Renault engine and the Ferrari engine was moved to its secondary team, team Scuderia Toro Rosso. Red Bull has been very successful with the Renault engine and will continue to use it this season. The team will use the Renault Energy F1-2015 engine with its RB11 chassis this season.

Base: Milton Keynes (UK)

Team Principal: Christian Horner

Main drivers: Daniel Ricciardo & Daniil Kvyat

Engine: Renault Energy F1-2015

Chassis: RB11

Debut F1 Season: 2005

Constructors’ Championship Titles: 4

Grand Prix race victories: 50

Pole Position: 57

Fastest lap times: 45


Driver 1:  Daniel Ricciardo


Daniel Ricciardo joined team Scuderia Toro Rosso in 2012, taking over from Sebastian Buemi in the 2012 season. In 2013, he moved up to team Red Bull, taking over Mark Webber’s spot. He began his F1 career as a test and reserve driver for Scuderia Toro Rosso, debuting at the 2011 British Grand Prix. Prior to F1, Ricciardo drove in Formula Ford, Formula BMW, Formula Renault, Formula Three and Formula Renault 3.5 Series. Ricciardo drove extremely well in 2014, with three Grand Prix wins (Canada, Hungary and Belgium) and five 3rd place finishes. He earned 238 points and came in third place for the Drivers’ Championship rankings – beating team mate Vettel, who finished in fifth place! He is definitely a driver to watch this season.

Driver Statistics:

Nationality: Australian

Date of Birth: 1 July 1989

World Championship Titles: 0

Number of Grand Prix won: 3

Pole Positions: 0

Career Points: 303

Podiums: 8

Driver 2:  Daniil Kvyat

Daniil Kvyat

Daniil Kvyat is a newcomer to F1 racing, having joined Scuderia Toro Rosso in 2014. He was just 19 years of age, but was the GP3 Series champing in 2012 and debuted at the 2014 Australian Grand Prix. Kvyat started his racing career in karting in Russia and Italy, moving on to Formula BMW, Toyota Racing Series and GP3. His best finish in 2014 was 9th in three Grand Prix races, garnering eight points for the season. Although young, it will be interesting to see what Kvyat can do for Red Bull in his second year.

Driver Statistics:

Nationality: Russian

Date of Birth: 26 April 1994

World Championship Titles: 0

Number of Grand Prix won: 0

Pole Positions: 0

Career Points: 25

Podiums: 0