Formula One Racing Teams – 2014 Updates

teamsThe 2013 Formula One (F1) season and its 64th was less of a real cliff-hanger than the previous season, where the Drivers’ Championship title winner was not clear until the final race. German driver Sebastian Vettel, who was also the defending champion, pretty much clinched the title in the fourth to last race. This gives Vettel his fourth consecutive championship title and makes him the favourite for the 2014 Season. Since its inception in 2005, Team Red Bull, Vettel’s team, has won the Constructors’ Championship four time and came in second once. All eyes will be on Vettel and Red Bull for the 2014 Season.

The 65th FIA Formula One racing season will have 19 Grand Prix races, the same number of races as last year and one less than the 20 in the past (2012 had 20 races). The season will start in Australia and end in Abu Dhabi, a change from the usual in Brazilian Grand Prix as the closing race. There will only be one Grand Prix race in Spain, in Catalunya, with the European Grand Prix in Valencia removed from the schedule. The German Grand Prix this season will take place in Hockenheim – taken turns with the Nürburgring. Omissions from this year’s calendar are the Indian Grand Prix and South Korean Grand Prix. A new addition to the Grand Prix line-up is the Russian Grand Prix and the Austrian Grand Prix.

As usual, there are many small technical changes to the F1 Season. However, the biggest change will be the change in engines, from a 2.4-litre V8 engine to 1.6-litre V6 engine. It is unclear how this will change F1 racing, but will be something everyone will be watching closely.

There are also numerous regulations changes, including improving safety of racing and penalties, but the one that will impact drivers and teams the most will be that the last race of the season will be worth double points to both teams and drivers. The change is expected to keep the battle for the championship title alive until the final race of the season and make it more difficult for drivers to clinch the title early.

There are no team changes this season regarding and the same 11 teams will compete in the 2014 Season.

However, although there are no team changes, there are plenty of driver changes for the season. Three new drivers will debut on the F1 circuit in 2014:

  • Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) – team Caterham
  • Daniil Kvyat (Russian) – team Toro Rosso
  • Kevin Magnussen (Danish) – team McLaren

There has been a lot of shifting among existing drivers, with some leaving the F1 circuit and others re-entering.

  • Charles Pic leaves Caterham and has been signed by Lotus as a reserve driver.
  • Mark Webber leaves Red Bull and F1 and joins 24 Hours Le Mans racing.
  • Daniel Ricciardo leaves Scuderia Toro Rosso and joins Red Bull.
  • Kimi Raikkonen leaves Lotus F1 and joins Scuderia Ferrari.
  • Pastor Maldonado leaves Williams F1 and joins Lotus F1.
  • Paul di Resta leaves Sahara Force India and F1, joins Mercedes to race in DTM.
  • Sergio Perez leaves McLaren and joins Sahara Force India.
  • Nico Hülkenberg leaves Sauber and joins Sahara Force India.
  • Adrian Sutil leaves Sahara Force Indian and joins Sauber.
  • Felipe Massa leaves Scuderia Ferrari and joins Williams.
  • Guide van der Garde leaves Caterham and joins Sauber as a test driver.
  • Kamui Kobayashi joins F1 again with team Caterham, after a year driving for AF Corse.

The 2014 Teams, Engines and Drivers

Caterham F1 Team Renault Energy F1-2014 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden)   Kamui Kobayashi (Japan)
Infiniti Red Bull Racing Renault Energy F1-2014 Sebastian Vettel (Germany)   Daniel Ricciardo (Australia)
Lotus F1 Team Renault Energy F1-2014 Romain Grosjean (France)   Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela)
Marussia F1 Team Ferrari 059/3 Max Chilton (UK)  Jules Bianchi (France)
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Mercedes PU 106A Hybrid Nico Rosberg (Germany)  Lewis Hamilton (UK)
Sahara Force India F1 Team Mercedes PU 106A Hybrid Sergio Perez (Mexico)  Nico Hülkenberg (Germany)
Sauber F1 Team Ferrari 059/3 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico)  Adrian Sutil (German)
Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari 059/3 Kimi Räikkönen (Finland)  Fernando Alonso (Spain)
Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault Energy F1-2014 Jean-Eric Vergne (France)  Daniil Kvyat (Russia)
McLaren Mercedes Mercedes PU 106A Hybrid Kevin Magnussen (Denmark)  Jenson Button (UK)
Williams Martini Racing Mercedes PU 106A Hybrid Felipe Massa (Brazil)  Valtteri Bottas (Finnish)