Italian 2015 F1 Grand Prix results


F1-Italian-GP-2015The Italian Grand Prix was held at the historic Autodromo Nazionale Monza circuit. Michael Schumacher still holds the most wins here, but Lewis Hamilton has won at Monza in 2014 and 2012, and Sebastian Vettel won in between those years. This year Hamilton was able to extend his record, by winning at again. He was followed by Vettel in second place and Felipe Massa in third place. Post-race Hamilton was under investigation by stewards for using illegal tyre pressure. However, two hours after the race finished, Hamilton’s win was confirmed.

Hamilton dominated qualifying. He easily took the fastest lap times in all three qualifying rounds. Team mate Nico Rosberg was not in quite the form he has been this season and only managed to qualify in fourth place. Kimi Raikkonen took second position on the grid and Vettel third. They were followed by Massa, Valtteri Bottas, Sergio Perez and Romain Grosjean. The qualifying session was completed without any major incidents, but a plethora of penalties were handed out to seven drivers. The heaviest of which was a 50-place grid penalty for Daniel Ricciardo for various changes to his power unit.

The Italian Grand Prix started under beautiful sun shine. Right off the bat, Raikkonen stalled on the grid, but Hamilton got a clean start. Luckily nobody crashed into Raikkonen on the grid and he was able to continue the race in third last position. The first lap saw the first casualty – Grosjean – out and just a couple of seconds followed by Pastor Maldonado, both Lotus drivers. Rosberg was battling from the beginning, having to use his old engine, which is not as powerful. In lap 7 Carlos Sainz hit Jenson Button, but both were able to continue. At this point, Hamilton remained in the lead, followed by Vettel, Massa, Bottas and Rosberg. In the back, Raikkonen worked hard to get back up to the front and by lap 24 was back in third place.

Halfway through the race, Hamilton remained in the lead, followed by Vettel, Raikkonen and Rosberg. Raikkonen almost had an accident driving into the pit lane with Roberto Merhi, who avoided crashing into Raikkonen by braking hard. Hamilton remained in a comfortable lead, with a 19 second lead over Vettel. The next retirement was Alonso in lap 47, who was just trying to overtake team mate Button – and suffered a car failure with just a few laps to go! Then the unthinkable happened, Rosberg’s engine blew up and he was out of the race. With just three laps left in the race, Hamilton easily took the chequered flag, followed by Vettel and Massa.

The Drivers’ Championship standings remained unchanged. Hamilton increased his lead over team mate Rosberg, with his win at Monza, giving him 252 points. Rosberg is 53 points behind his team mate, with 199 points. Vettel remained in third place with 178. Two drivers have yet to score points this season: Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens.

The top four Constructors’ Championship standings also remained unchanged. Mercedes continued to charge ahead, with Hamilton’s win adding 25 points – with a total of 451 points. Ferrari remained in second place with 270 points and Williams-Mercedes in third place with 188 points. Red Bull remained in fourth place in 113 points. However, Lotus-Mercedes dropped one place to sixth and Force India, with their 6-7 finish, moved up one place to fifth, with 63 points. Only one team has yet to score any points, Marussia-Ferrari.

Full Race Results

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:18:00.688s
  2. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) +25.042s
  3. Felipe Massa (Williams-Mercedes) +47.635s
  4. Valtteri Bottas (Williams-Mercedes) +47.996s
  5. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +68.860s
  6. Sergio Perez (Force India-Mercedes) +72.783s
  7. Nico Hülkenberg (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  8. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  9. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber-Ferrari) +1 lap
  10. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull-Renault) +lap
  11. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso-Renault) +1 lap
  12. Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso-Renault) +1 lap
  13. Felipe Nasr (Sauber-Ferrari) +1 lap
  14. Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) +1 lap
  15. Will Stevens (Marussia-Ferrari) +2 laps
  16. Roberto Merhi (Marussia-Ferrari) +2 laps
  17. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) retired, lap 50
  18. Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) retired, lap 47

Romain Grosjean (Lotus-Mercedes) retired, lap 1

Pastor Maldonado (Lotus-Mercedes) retired, lap 1

Grand Prix details  |   Circuit details   |   Transportation   |    Accommodation

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *