Mexican 2015 F1 Grand Prix results


xxxx during the Formula One Grand Prix of Mexico at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez  on November 1, 2015 in Mexico City, Mexico.

xxxx during the Formula One Grand Prix of Mexico at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez on November 1, 2015 in Mexico City, Mexico.

The title race was all over by the time the teams arrived in Mexico for the third last Grand Prix race of the season, at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez. Over the last 12-months, the racing circuit in Mexico City underwent significant upgrades and changes. With Lewis Hamilton having captured the Drivers’ Championship title and Mercedes having won the Constructors’ Championship title, there is really nothing left to prove in the season. But this may be the chance for some of the other drivers to win a few races. Nico Rosberg took the chequered flag at the Mexican Grand Prix, his fourth win this season, followed by Hamilton in second place and Valtteri Bottas in third place.

Qualifying took place under the hot Mexican sun, with Rosberg having posted the fastest lap times in round one and three. Team mate Hamilton took the fastest lap time in the second round of qualifying. This gave Rosberg the pole position at the Mexican Grand Prix. Jenson Button decided not to participate in the qualifying rounds, as he needed a new power unit, engine and gearbox. This gave him a 70-place grid penalty. Stewards gave him permission to race in the Grand Prix race despite not setting a qualifying time. Fernando Alonso also received a 10-place grid penalty for an engine change and 5-grid penalty for a gearbox change. Kimi Raikkonen also received 10- and four 5-place grid penalties for changing his power unit and gearbox.

The Grand Prix started in scorching temperatures. Rosberg got a good start off pole position, despite Hamilton’s efforts to overtake him. Vettel right off the bat suffered a flat tire as he touched Daniel Ricciardo. First retirement was Alonso, with power unit failure in the first lap – not a good weekend for the Spaniard. Vettel continued to have a tough race, as he spun in lap 18 and moved down to 13th place. In the front, it was Rosberg, Hamilton, Daniil Kvyat and Ricciardo. Lap 21 saw the next retirement, as Raikkonen was out after colliding with Bottas. The next retirement was Vettel in lap 50, followed by Felipe Nasr seven laps later – a frustrating weekend for the German. The remainder of the race was uneventful and Rosberg easily took the chequered flag, despite being hounded by Hamilton for most of the race.

Hamilton’s second place win just added more points to his Drivers’ Championship title with 345 points. Rosberg win moved him up one place to second, with 272 points and Vettel moved down one place to third, with 251 points. Bottas moved up one place to fourth, with 126 points and Raikkonen moved down one place to fifth. Three drivers have yet to score points: Roberto Merhi, Will Stevens and Alexander Rossi.

Mercedes’ one-two win simply added to their Constructors’ Championship title points, now with 617 points. Ferrari did not garner any points in Mexico, but still remained in second place with 374 points. Williams-Mercedes added 23 points to their standing, but remained in third place with 243 points. Only one team has yet to score any points this season, Marussia-Ferrari.

Full Race Results

  1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 1:42:35.038s
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) +1.954s
  3. Valtteri Bottas (Williams-Mercedes) +14.592s
  4. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull-Renault) +16.572s
  5. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull-Renault) +19.682s
  6. Felipe Massa (Williams-Mercedes) +21.493s
  7. Nico Hülkenberg (Force India-Mercedes) +25.860s
  8. Sergio Perez (Force India-Mercedes) +34.343s
  9. Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso-Renault) +35.229s
  10. Romain Grosjean (Lotus-Mercedes) +37.934s
  11. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus-Mercedes) +38.538s
  12. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber-Ferrari) +40.180s
  13. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso-Renault) +48.772s
  14. Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) +49.214s
  15. Alexander Rossi (Marussia-Ferrari) +2 laps
  16. Will Stevens (Marussia-Ferrari) +2 laps

Felipe Nasr (Sauber-Ferrari) retired, lap 57

Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) retired, lap 50

Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) retired, lap 21

Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) retired, lap 1


Introduction  |  Circuit details  |  Transportation  |  Accommodation  |  Results

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *