Ciudad del Motor de Aragón Spain

The Ciudad del Motor de Aragón is also colloquially known as Motorland Aragón, is one of four MotoGP tracks on the annual racing calendar located in Spain. The track opened in 2009 and was designed by famous German track designer Hermann Tilke. The race in Aragón was added to the MotoGP line-up to replace the Hungarian Grand Prix in 2010 and circuit management has signed a contract to host the race until 2016.

Aragon 1

The Aragón circuit is relatively new, making it one of the most modern on the MotoGP line-up. The circuit is 3.155 miles (5.078km) in length and has quickly risen as a favourite among drivers and fans. With its 10 left corners and seven rights, the track is known for its downhill corners and uphill start/finish straight. In 2010, the track received the IRTA Best Grand Prix of the Year Award, the first time a racing circuit has been awarded this honour in its debut year.

In 2013, Marc Marquez (Honda) took the chequered flag, but not before team mate Dani Pedrosa crashed out with 18 laps to go – due to contact with Marquez. Second place was taken by Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) and third place by Valentino Rossi (Yamaha).

The track is located in the picturesque region of northeast Spain, near Alcañiz. Although the area surrounding the track is beautiful and serene, this makes it a little complicated transportation wise. The major city of Barcelona is roughly three hours by car. From Alcañiz fans can take the N-232 or N-211 motorway. The track is well signposted and just a short drive away. The closest train station to the track is the Caspe train station, which is 17 miles (28km) away and offers connections to major Spanish cities.

The closest international airports are either Zaragoza Airport or Reus Airport; however, both are over 60 miles (100km) away. Both airports service domestic and international flights.