Singaporean 2015 F1 Grand Prix results


2015 Singapore Grand Prix Results

Singapore-Grand-Prix-2015From Europe, teams flew to Singapore for the Asian portion of the F1 racing season. The Singapore Grand Prix is one of the highlights of the F1 season, as it is run on an exciting street track and to add to the excitement, at night! Sebastian Vettel has the most number of wins in Singapore with four, with Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton both with two wins each. In the end, Vettel took the chequered flag, followed by Daniel Ricciardo in second place and Kimi Raikkonen in third place.

For a change, Vettel was on fire during qualifying. He took the fastest lap times in the second and third rounds. But in the first round it was Daniil Kvyat who posted the fastest lap time, but he was unable to follow through and started on fourth place on the grid. Vettel took the pole position, amazingly, his first this season! The Singapore street circuit is known for its difficulty overtaking, so this gave Vettel an important advantage. Second on the grid was Ricciardo, then Raikkonen, Kvyat, Hamilton and Rosberg. For a change, the two Mercedes drivers were not on the top three on the grid.

The Singapore Grand Prix started under clear evening floodlit sky. Vettel got a good start off pole position and sailed smoothly into the lead. Max Verstappen stalled on the grid, but managed to continue the race. The first retirement came in lap 12, as Nico Hülkenberg crashed into the barrier, when Felipe Massa tried to overtake him. The safety car was deployed to clear debris on the circuit. Stewarts reviewed the crash and gave Hülkenberg a three-place grid penalty for the next Grand Prix. By lap 27 Vettel still remained in clear lead, but Hamilton was heard over the radio complaining that he was losing power. A slew of retirements took place. In lap 30, Felipe Massa was out with gearbox trouble. Next, the unimaginable happened, Hamilton retired on lap 32 with a throttle problem. Next it’s Fernando Alonso, out in lap 33 with a gearbox problem. That amounted to four retirements during the first half of the race.

In lap 38 something puzzling happened, the safety car had to be deployed as there was someone walking on the track! Vettel retained the lead, followed by Ricciardo and Raikkonen. In lap 52, Jenson Button had to retire with a gearbox problem – so far, not a good season for him, his fifth retirement in 13 races. The remainder of the race remained uneventful and Vettel took the chequered flag, only his third win this season. Does this mean Vettel is back on top or did Mercedes just have a bad weekend? We shall see at the Japanese Grand Prix.

The top three Drivers’ Championship standings remained unchanged. Hamilton, even with his retirement, remained in first place with 252 points. Team mate Rosberg narrowed his gap, with his fourth place finish to 211 points. Vettel’s win also helped him narrow the gap, with 203 points. Raikkonen moves up into fourth place, with his third place finish, now on 107 points and Bottas moved up into fifth place, thanks to his fifth place finish, with 101 points. Two drivers have yet to score points this season, Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens, and new driver Alexander Rossi.

The Constructors’ Championship standings remained unchanged after the Singapore Grand Prix. Mercedes continued its lead, as Rosberg added 12 points, giving the team 463 points – still a 153 point lead. Ferrari remained in second place with 310 points and Williams-Mercedes in third place with 198 points. Only one team has yet to score any points, Marussia-Ferrari.

Full Race Results

  1. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) 2:04:22.118s
  2. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull-Renault) +1.478s
  3. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +17.154s
  4. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) +24.720s
  5. Valtteri Bottas (Williams-Mercedes) +34.204s
  6. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull-Renault) +35.508s
  7. Sergio Perez (Force India-Mercedes) +50.836s
  8. Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso-Renault) +51.450s
  9. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso-Renault) +52.860s
  10. Felipe Nasr (Sauber-Ferrari) +1:30.045s
  11. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber-Ferrari) +1:37.507s
  12. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus-Mercedes) +1:37.718s
  13. Romain Grosjean (Lotus-Mercedes) retired, lap 59
  14. Alexander Rossi (Marussia-Ferrari) +2 laps
  15. Will Stevens (Marussia-Ferrari) +2 laps

Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) retired, lap 52

Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) retired, lap 33

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) retired, lap 32

Felipe Massa (Williams-Mercedes) retired, lap 30

Nico Hülkenberg (Force India-Mercedes) retired, lap 12

Grand Prix details  |   Circuit details   |   Transportation   |    Accommodation

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *