Spanish 2015 F1 Grand Prix results


2015 Spanish Grand Prix Results

From the Middle East, teams headed to Spain for the European leg of the season. The Spanish Grand Prix, held at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, was the fifth race of the season and was won by Lewis Hamilton last year and Fernando Alonso the previous year. With three weeks having passed since the Bahrain Grand Prix, teams should have had time to address technical issues and drivers re-energised. In the end, the race was won by Nico Rosberg, his first ever win in Spain and first win this season. He was followed by Hamilton in second place and Sebastian Vettel in third place.

Qualifying was dominated by the two Mercedes drivers, with Hamilton taking the fastest lap in round one of qualifying and team mate Rosberg taking the fastest lap times in round two and three. This gave the German driver his first pole position of the season, followed by Hamilton, Vettel, Valtteri Bottas and Carlos Sainz. All drivers qualified in the 107% margin limit. The grid position is especially important in Spain, because there are very few overtaking opportunities at this track.

Rosberg started off strong from pole position, while Vettel battled for second position with Hamilton and overtook the Briton in lap 2. Rosberg remained in the lead and posted the fastest lap time in lap 6. Lap 8 saw a small collision between Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean, which forced Maldonado to pit to repair a broken front wing. Hamilton had a horrible pit stop, which gave Vettel a larger lead. By lap 20, Rosberg was in an easy lead, with Hamilton still behind Vettel. Lap 28 saw the first retirement of the race, as Alonso pulled into the pit stop and almost ran over a pit crew – brake problems. Lap 41 almost saw another pit stop accident, as Romain Grosjean just missed running over a pit crew member!

Rosberg continued to steam ahead, with a 24 second lead by lap 43. Lap 47 saw the second retirement, as Pastor Maldonado’s car had suffered too much collision damage – his fourth retirement in five races! As all the drivers pitted, Hamilton managed to take the lead over Rosberg for a short time. But by lap 52, Rosberg was back in the lead, followed by Hamilton and Vettel and with few overtaking opportunities the writing seemed to be on the wall. In the meantime, newcomer Will Stevens was lapped for the second time – he eventually finished three laps behind the winner. In the end, although Hamilton was able to narrow the gap with Rosberg to 17.5 seconds, the German was just too fast. He took the chequered flag, followed by Hamilton and Vettel. This was Rosberg’s first first-place finish this season and Vettel’s third third-place finish.

The top four Drivers’ Championship standings saw no changes after the Spanish Grand Prix. Hamilton remains in clear lead with 111 points. He is trailed by team mate Rosberg, with 91 points. Vettel is in third place with 80 points and Raikkonen in fourth place with 52 points. Bottas’ fourth place finish moved him up one position to fifth with 42 points. Six drivers have yet to score points this season, including Alonso.

For the Constructors’ Championship standings, the 1-2 finish by Mercedes drivers solidifies the team’s lead with 202 points. Ferrari’s is in second place with 132 points and Williams in far third with 81 points. Two teams have yet to score points, McLaren-Honda and Manor Marussia.

Full Race Results

  1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 1:41:12.555s
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) +17.551s
  1. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) +45.342s
  1. Valtteri Bottas (Williams-Mercedes) +59.217s
  2. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +60.002
  3. Felipe Massa (Williams-Mercedes) +81.314s
  4. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  5. Romain Grosjean (Lotus-Mercedes) +1 lap
  6. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso-Renault) +1 lap
  7. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull-Renault) +1 lap
  8. Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso-Renault) +1 lap
  9. Felipe Nasr (Sauber-Ferrari) +1 lap
  10. Sergio Perez (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  11. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber-Ferrari) +1 lap
  12. Nico Hülkenberg (Force India-Mercedes) +1 lap
  13. Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) +1 lap
  14. Will Stevens (Marussia-Ferrari) +3 laps
  15. Roberto Merhi (Marussia-Ferrari) +4 laps

Pastor Maldonado (Lotus-Mercedes) retired, lap 47

Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) retired, lap 28

Grand Prix details  |   Circuit details   |   Transportation   |    Accommodation


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *